Moving into new realms

It’s been a long time since I last posted here, and since then, I’ve finished my last undergraduate exams, had a nice academic-free month, graduated, and am now on my ‘summer’ attachment (cos it’s actually winter here). I’m currently in Brisbane, Australia, doing a two month (unpaid) stint with the Wilson Conservation Ecology Lab at the University of Queensland. I’m going to be working on a project to do with conservation/environmental policies, decision-making and impact evaluation. There’s a fair bit of statistics/math involved, and learning about and applying causal inference theory (used much more often in economics and public health/medicine than in ecology/conservation). It’s all very very new to me, words like causal conditional probabilities, directed acyclic graphs, matching, counterfactuals etc.. Statistics is definitely not a strength of mine (nor is anything theoretical ><), it’s really interesting and awesome, being able to learn new techniques that will hopefully make more of a difference.

I’ll post again when I get a better handle on things. In other matters, though it’s winter here, in the day it’s probably still hotter than UK spring/autumn (I would say summer if not for the current heatwave). Quite liking Brisbane so far (:

Rainbow at UQ St Lucia, Great Court

Rainbow at UQ St Lucia, Great Court

Oh and moving into new realms also because I’m going to be doing a MRes in Ecosystem and Environmental Change in Imperial College London starting October. So presently, not a student anymore, but I can call myself a graduate student soon.

About Jocelyne Sze

I'm a Nature-lover, aspiring conservationist, and wannabe traveller in search of outdoor adventure.
This entry was posted in Opinion and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

