Getting muddy at Changi Creek!

I think it’s been little over a year since my first survey with the Comprehensive Mega Marine Survey (CMBS) a.k.a. Mega Marine Survey!

Sunrise at Changi Beach Park!

I think my first one was at Admiralty Park, but well the first one I blogged on was at Lim Chu Kang mudflats. But last Thursday, 12 April, I went to Changi Creek!

🙂

Meeting point was technically supposed to be somewhere near Changi Village, but blur me went to Changi Beach Park instead. But was at least mollified by the beautiful sunrise and nice morning walk 🙂

Yen Ling from TMSI conducting the briefing

Being a weekday, there weren’t many who signed up. But there was a considerable number of first-timers; always nice to see fresh blood, and most are fresh from JC or Poly! Yay, more youths embracing their wilder and biophilic sides 🙂

Bringing all our barang-barang (things) to the field site

Behind this patch of trees..

Lies our field site! A neat little mudflat patch next to Changi Creek 🙂

Pretty soft mud here!

First to venture in was Yen Ling and Helen from TMSI, to lay out the transect tape. Volunteers are to do the collection along the transect line. Doing the survey work is not hard!

1) Using the shovel, dig out some mud and place it on the sieve
2) “Rinse” the substrate away in the river and spot the little critters!
3) Keep them!

All these data collected is meant to give us a better idea of what lies in our marine habitats. The specimens will subsequently be sorted and identified during the lab sessions. You can find out more about what we do during lab sessions here.

The hard part is probably getting started, especially if you’re completely new to doing field work/surveys/marine habitats. And not used to the mud.

NParks officer Jonathan showing first-time volunteer Eva the marine life that can be found in this seemingly dirty & lifeless place!

Caught a mudskipper!

And she was soo fascinated! 😀

She had a lot of difficulty trying to move around on the muddy substrate. Comes with practice I guess! It’s really nice to meet people who come down to do surveys when they’re completely foreign to it. I sure hope it opened her eyes to what marine life we have right here in Singapore and that she’ll come back for more! 🙂

I had taken a pretty bad fall the day earlier and had a bad scrape that I didn’t want to get infected, so probably Yen Ling took pity on me and gave me a relatively easy job 😛 I just went around taking photos and recording general observations.

Monitor lizard tracks??

Never really closely examined internal organs of crabs before. Or of anything, for that matter. Arghh why did we not have any dissection in our Bio syllabus!!

Everyone's hard at work searching for little critters hiding in the mud!

Abandoned nets :/

I’m pretty sure I took more photos than this, including one of a tiny, thumb-sized baby horseshoe crab. But I can’t find it, so wells.

This is probably one of my last few Mega Marine Surveys, because I’ll be leaving for further studies overseas soon! 😦 I’m pretty sure I’m going to miss MMS and TeamSeagrass very much after I leave.

If you’d like to find out more about CMBS or join us, do visit the blog here!

More about this survey, along with more photos, on the MMS blog.

About Jocelyne Sze

I'm a Nature-lover, aspiring conservationist, and wannabe traveller in search of outdoor adventure.
This entry was posted in Walk and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

