Cycling after a very long time…

I was summoned to go cycle with Siva and the Zendogs 2.0, after Siva found out that I stay at Fort Road and own a bicycle (but rarely cycle). So instead of spending a lazy Sunday morning in bed, I woke up bright and early and made my way over to the meeting point at the Fort Road Carpark (East Coast Park, Carpark B ). We cycled along East Coast Park and made our way through the Changi Coastal Park Connector before arriving at Changi Village.

I haven’t been cycling much the past year, probably the longest distance I did was from the Fort Road underpass (area B) to the Sea Food Centre (area E). So, when called to go cycling, I was filled with much trepidation about my cycling fitness. On top of that, there was the added pressure at having to make it back home and shower before attending mass at 10.30am.

We started off at 7.30am, and I was keeping up with Siva, who was leading the pack. He commented that my bike frame was too large for me and I was stretched out. And true enough, halfway through the ride, I started feeling an ache in my lower back. By the time we reached the long stretch of road along the airport runway, I couldn’t wait to reach the destination (Changi village) and relieve my butt ache, on top of everything else!

We finally, eventually, reached Changi Village, and I was amazed to find out that the entire journey took a little over an hour. I was thoroughly exhausted and just clung on to my bike, trying to catch my breath while not looking like that was a very strenuous workout. But my flushed face and visible exhaustion gave it away, and the rest of the Zendogs were pretty amused I think. They all managed to make it look like a walk in the park.

After a huge cup of milo dinosaur and prata, I revived somewhat, and made conversation with the others. But with the thought of church in the back of my mind, I was filled with dread at the thought of making the long ride back in an hour again. Thankfully, the perks of still being a “kid” come in useful — sending out an SOS message to my dad! And my dad was nice enough to come all the way to Changi Village to rescue me :D, and giving Siva a peace of mind as well.

Before I left, Chi, one of the Zendogs, helped adjust my bike saddle a little higher, so my leg is fully extended when pedaling, and as much forward as it can go. He also suggested I change my bike stem to a shorter one, so that I don’t have to stretch so far to hold the handlebars. I was in a much more comfortable position after all the adjustments, and hopefully my next ride will be better!

Check out Siva’s post on the Zendog’s blog.

About Jocelyne Sze

I'm a Nature-lover, aspiring conservationist, and wannabe traveller in search of outdoor adventure.
This entry was posted in Outdoor activities and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cycling after a very long time…

  1. There is an easy way to avoid having a time limit when cycling on Sunday mornings: attend Saturday sunset mass. 😉

  2. Pingback: Cheng Puay and Jocelyn write about their rides to Changi Village | Otterman speaks...

Leave a Reply

