At crossroads

So it’s the end of 2011. I am unable to reflect upon this year for the environment and wildlife, I can’t say for certain if it’s been a great year or not. But this year, I think I’ve noticed a trend of more nature blogs from youths my age (Sean, Wei Siang, Ruici, Gladys). Which gives hope. Despite the problems that may loom ahead for the environment, as long as there are people who believe that we can still make a difference, there is still hope. And hope is everything.

This video just about sums up the essentials of what’s causing much of our environmental problems. Of course it misses out on others, and doesn’t talk much about marine problems. But still, it’s a great video. Watch it! I first saw it on Ed Yong’s Not Rocket Science blog, which is a great read.

As we count down into 2012, I have been reading articles about what some people think will be major issues we face. I realise that featuring prominently are political issues (think Pyong Yang, amongst others), financial issues (Euro debt crisis), economical issues (China’s supposed economic slowdown?) and a number of others that I don’t remember. Yet somehow, they don’t mention environmental issues. What about climate change? What about biodiversity loss? What about the fact that it will be 20 years since the first Earth Summit in Rio, and there are targets that we are supposed to have met but have yet to do so?

In the next year, I hope that environmental issues gain greater awareness, and even more importantly, greater ACTION. I hope that people across all ages and countries and race and religion come to realise that without a healthy, sustainable environment, we cannot live. And that unless we do something to really tackle these problems, all our other problems (financial, social, economical, political) will stay. Because humans are innately linked to Mother Nature.

Happy New Year!

So we’re now at a point in time (actually we’ve always been at that point in time) when we can do something to make a difference and save our future, or just do nothing and slowly die out. But I still have hope, hope for a better world (:

About Jocelyne Sze

I'm a Nature-lover, aspiring conservationist, and wannabe traveller in search of outdoor adventure.
This entry was posted in Opinion and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to At crossroads

  1. Niezwykle ciekawy wpis, prosimy o wiecej – zostane stalym gosciem na witrynie 🙂

  2. Heya i am for the first time here. I found this board and I find It really useful & it helped me out a lot. I hope to give something back and help others like you helped me.

Leave a Reply

