Muddy in the mangroves

A pretty backdated post on ICCS 2011 (17 September 2011), but I had already previously posted on the ICCS blog (Uncovering the mangroves at the inaugural Lim Chu Kang East cleanup) so I didn’t feel the pressing need to post here.

Probably just a few more thoughts. That was the 4th coastal cleanup I’ve done, first being a S1 in RGS (which I barely remember) at East Coast Park, second was an informal one at Tanah Merah in 2010 after the oil spill, and the third was the National Day one at Lim Chu Kang earlier this year. It grew steadily “dirtier”.

In RGS, it was like doing Corrective Work Order (CWO), cos you just go around picking up litter on the beach. But this one at Lim Chu Kang East, that was really fun. Being a completely new site, the litter had not previously been cleared. Fully covered in trash, I was really very very shocked when I got there. And I was like, oh my goodness, how are we ever gonna clear all this rubbish! But I guess slowly, we got there. Almost.

The hydrogen sulfide fumes really got me high I think, or just the mangrove-y smell in general. I was having a lot of fun picking up the trash, joking with the NUS people around me about the various trash found. Bags and bottles and slippers and light bulbs. And I had particular fun rolling out the huge plastic drums with Jessica.

Managed to get pretty muddy, so that was nice (: Really enjoyable morning I had.

Come to think of it, I haven’t really been out in the mangroves much. Usually in the intertidal areas, and if in mangroves (ie Sungei Buloh Wetland Reserves), I would be on the boardwalk. So it’s really nice being able to get muddy (:

About Jocelyne Sze

I'm a Nature-lover, aspiring conservationist, and wannabe traveller in search of outdoor adventure.
This entry was posted in Walk and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

