Internship at the museum and upcoming biodiversity symposium!

I ended my stint in the Zoo last week, and just started my internship with the Raffles Museum of Biodiversity Research on Monday!

While the Zoo has been a good experience in the corporate environment, and it was nice going to work seeing all the greenery around (World’s Best Rainforest Zoo), playing with little animals and interacting with kids, it was time to move on. Thanks to very nice teacher-mentors, I was given the opportunity to intern in the museum, under Joelle and Siva. And naturally, it’s a very different environment from the Zoo.

So far it’s been all out for the Biodiversity of Singapore Symposium III (BoSS3) this Saturday, 24 September 2011, and I’ve been roped in to help out as well. It’s all very exciting, just sitting in for the speakers tea session/briefing earlier today got me all hyped up for this Sat! Can’t wait to hear what the speakers have to share(:

For more information on the symposium, do check out the BoSS3 website.

 

Mr Lim Cheng Puay, my former RGS research studies mentor and OSL teacher, dropped by in the afternoon to help look through the poster abstracts. It was good catching up with him again(: He’s also the chairperson for the Forests session on Saturday, along with Yong Ding Li. I was listening in on their discussion with Siva about invasive species, and he said something that made me think. What’s wrong with having invasive/exotic species, aka aliens?

I always had the impression that exotic species introduced into our natural environment were bad, since it was taught to me that introducing non-native species would disrupt our local ecosystem and cause great destruction. And that’s what I impressed upon students who came to the Zoo for their learning journeys as well. But I suppose what Siva said also makes sense. That most aliens are released into our reservoirs, which are in the first place, not natural. Majority of our reservoirs are artificial, and didn’t exist previously, so natives and exotics kinda have an equal footing at competition. And most invasive species in the wild aren’t actually doing well.

 

Hmm well I guess this is just one of many topics that I barely know about but blindly parrot beliefs, and there’s always room for further discussion and a closer examination.

About Jocelyne Sze

I'm a Nature-lover, aspiring conservationist, and wannabe traveller in search of outdoor adventure.
This entry was posted in Talk and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Internship at the museum and upcoming biodiversity symposium!

  1. Pingback: Last day at the museum :( | Nature rambles.

Leave a Reply

