Nature interpretive session

Attended a Nature Interpretive training session on Friday at Botanic Gardens Botany Centre. Organised by NParks Conservation Division, to be a Nature guide with them, one had to go for the session.

Rachael also went, and there were about 15 other people or so. Was an interesting session, covered most of what being a guide was about. Introduced a new term “Nature Interpretation”, as opposed to a guided walk..

I thought about it for a while and it seems like that is just the latest catchphrase, a bit like Outdoor Education (which often comes along with a picture of some kids geared out and climbing). I think in the Singapore environment, to really want to live out the meaning of Nature Interpretation or Outdoor Education, something fundamental must change. Otherwise no matter what words you use, it’s still the same. I think I’m a bit vague here, I myself can’t really pin down what I mean exactly. But generally, I just feel that those are just words that don’t mean much.

Anyways, the session reminded me of the Leaf Monkey Workshops, only I feel that the latter have more life in them. Rachael and I arrived late for the workshop, so probably missed out on the introductions, felt a little lost. But yep, I’m looking forward to doing some nature guiding at Central Nature Reserve and Ubin (:

About Jocelyne Sze

I'm a Nature-lover, aspiring conservationist, and wannabe traveller in search of outdoor adventure.
This entry was posted in Talk and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

