Earth hour

I didn’t celebrate Earth Hour. I didn’t switch off the lights at home during that one hour from 830pm to 930pm today (26 March).

But I hope that doesn’t mean that I don’t care about the Earth or our impact on it. I’ve been thinking about these things a lot, about the environment, wildlife, natural heritage, ecology, conservation, nature, biodiversity. about what we do, what we can do to help. Because of what I want to study and to explain to people.

I think to most people, it’s all the same. When you talk about the environment, they think about recycling and water issues and I dunno what else. But it’s different. I care about sustainable development, and I do things like saving electricity (and using alternative energy over coal) and water and reducing wastage, refusing to take plastic bags, recycling waste and all that stuff, but what I’m truly concerned about is biodiversity, natural habitats. I don’t want to make a career out of persuading people to use less plastic bags, because they will stay on Earth far longer than we will and they contribute to marine trash and kill a lot of marine life. It matters, but that’s not what I really want to do.

I guess there are many levels of actions that we can do.

The first would probably be what I just listed, little actions that would help reduce the amount of resources we consume. Which will in a way, help save natural habitats because less oil needs to be extracted (from the Arctic! D:), fewer forests are deforested (for clearing land to grow crops, build houses or for paper/wood products) etc. Things like reducing food miles (how far your food has travelled to reach your plate) and carbon footprint as well, though I haven’t really been doing that :/

Second would probably be learning more about our environment, our ecological impact, knowing more about the biodiversity we have and appreciating it. To fully understand why we do what we do. And maybe to share with others, what we know?

And third, I don’t know, maybe to be actively conserving them, implementing policies and carrying out actions that would actually protect our wildlife and habitats. Or something along those lines.

I don’t quite know what I’m saying, my thoughts are all quite jumbled up, but I guess all that I’m trying to say is wanting to protect the environment goes beyond Earth Hour and is not just about energy, waste and resources. I think we humans ought to forge closer ties with Nature and realise that everything we do and eat and essentially how we live is closely tied to the environment, in order for us to really think about sustainable living/development. And not always only think about economics.

About Jocelyne Sze

I'm a Nature-lover, aspiring conservationist, and wannabe traveller in search of outdoor adventure.
This entry was posted in Talk. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

